Slow Down

Slow down, you move too fast
You got to make the morning last
Just kicking down the cobblestones
Looking for fun and feelin’ groovy
Ba da da da da da da, feelin’ groovy

Hello, lamppost, what’cha knowin’?
I’ve come to watch your flowers growin’
Ain’t’cha got no rhymes for me?
Doot-in doo-doo, feelin’ groovy
Ba da da da da da da, feelin’ groovy

I got no deeds to do
No promises to keep
I’m dappled and drowsy and ready to sleep
Let the morning time drop all its petals on me
Life, I love you
All is groovy

~ The 59th Street Bridge Song ( Feelin’ Groovy)  Simon & Garfunkel

Learn to slow yourself down before your kids grow up and move away, and your parents become a thought that you just can’t place. There is life outside of work, bills, the disturbing nightly news, and yes, even struggles that plague you daily. And boy, this life can be really great!

Life can be great if you just let yourself slow down and enjoy the simple things. The beauty of nature right out your back door. The silly smile on your child’s face. The warm breeze that tickles the back of your neck, and maybe even the sound of silence when you take a short nap.

The point is, slow down and just be in your life instead of somewhere else. It may not seem like it now, but I can assure you it’s true, life goes by very fast and it can pass right over you. And, no matter how hard you try, you just can’t get it to come back. So, as  cliche’ as it sounds, just stop and smell the roses while you can.

29 thoughts on “Slow Down

  1. Yes Michele, it is surprising, especially as we get older, just how fast it all goes by….and suddenly we’re all alone 🙂

  2. Joyful2bee says:

    59th Street Bridge Song is one of my favorites!! Good post!! Thanks!

  3. … before one of those significant life vents forces you to change your lifestyle! 🙂 Wise advise, yours.

  4. I’m hoping I have a time to slow down. 😉

  5. slesser1013 says:

    I love your blog michele, its so simple but so profound. This post holds true too because life is too short and you dont know what’s gonna happen. So live in your present and enjoy life to the fullest.

    • Thank you, Stefanie. You have always been a wonderful supporter of this blog and my posts, and I so very much appreciate it, and your friendship too! You said it all: Life is too short. I didn’t used to realize that fact, but I do now. I think we all need to slow down and realize how precious the moments we have are. Thank you again 🙂

  6. inesephoto says:

    So true. Thank you for the reminder!

  7. Sheryl says:

    Great post – Thanks for the wonderful reminders.

  8. A beautiful reminder. Thank you.

  9. jennymarie4 says:

    Great post, this is so true! I always remind myself to be mindful, and enjoy the moment 🙂

  10. I grew up on that bridge in NYC. =) The irony is that if you’re from there, slowing down is something that doesn’t compute.

  11. Aquileana says:

    A well timed song… You might like it: Amy Macdonald – Slow It Down https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oGwXzrW5mFc 😉 Best wishes. Aquileana ⭐

  12. Thank you, Aquileana, I’ll have to listen to that 🙂

Leave a Reply

