Unconditional Love and Acceptance

Do you accept the people in your life for who and what they are, or do you have conditions that have to be met first? Can you love someone freely and allow them to love you back without them having to meet some stipulation that’s so very important to you? I hope so, because this is what unconditional love and acceptance is all about.

We’ve all met people, and maybe even been these people, or have relatives who are these people, that will accept friendship or love for a price. The price is doing business their way. Thinking the way they want you to think, be who they want you to be, and let them use you in some way that benefits them. If you don’t go along with the program, it’s Curtains for you!

“Unconditional love really exists in each of us. It is part of our deep inner being. It is not so much an active emotion as a state of being. It’s not, ‘I love you for this or that reason’ not, ‘I love you if you love me.’ It’s love for no reason, love without an object.” ~ Ram Dass

I like the part, “love without an object.” That’s the way we should be toward each other. We should free the people in our life and also free ourselves to just be able to accept and love without conditions. Just be free to be the parent, grandparent, child, friend, etc. And be free to experience the purity of unconditional love and acceptance.

“Even after all this time, the sun never says to the earth, ‘you owe me.’ Look what happens with a love like that. It lights up the whole sky.” ~ Hafiz

Live your life free to be you, and allow the same for all the people who share your world.

20 thoughts on “Unconditional Love and Acceptance

  1. Bhanu says:

    Nice post.

    Slight interjection ?

    Earth, Sun n Sky ?

    Sun only lights half of the earth at any point of time and is conditional I believe ?
    Though if I think of it since moon reflects the light of Sun, it can be attributed to Sun. May be deeper love of unconditional and unseen love ?

    I don’t know but I may be silly 🙂

  2. A very beautiful place to be Michele…and once touched, never forgotten.
    Always heading in that direction, following the signs of my heart.
    Great post, and thank you for sharing your heart 🙂

    • It is a very beautiful place to be. So simple, and yet, some have problems with the whole idea of loving without condition. Thank you, Mark, for being the beautiful soul that you are.

  3. facetfully says:

    I agree. I would like to share here something I recently read that was food for thought for me…
    Never allow yourself to become so tolerant that you look past intolerance. But always remember to treat the intolerant the way you would want them to treat others.
    I know your post is not about intolerance, but it made me think of this.

  4. Joyful2bee says:

    Having a friend who loves me for myself is a wonderful healing experience. Sometimes we first need to love ourselves and believe we are worth loving to be able to accept that kind of love. Then sometimes we learn to love ourselves because someone accepts us as we are. Good blog post!!

    • Thank you, Elaine! If you have a friend that loves you like that, you are truly blessed. You are right that we have to accept and love ourselves first before anything else, then we can accept that pure unconditional love from someone else.

  5. I believe unconditional love between parent and child is the key to a lifelong close relationship. My husband’s parents doled out very conditional love and I can assure you that never works.

  6. smilecalm says:

    unconditionally
    liberating, Michele 🙂

  7. BarbCT says:

    What a wonderful post and so true! I’ve never placed conditions on my love and friendship, but I do expect to be treated likewise. It’s a shame that more people can’t be like that, especially when it comes to family.

  8. I’m so glad you enjoyed the post, Barb, and thank you! I’ve never placed conditions on love or friendship either, but have experienced people doing it to me–especially family which is always very sad when that happens. I think we would all be a lot happier if we had no expectations from each other and just practiced kindness.

Leave a Reply

