What Are You Willing to Sacrifice?

What are you really willing to sacrifice for your career? Are you willing to cheat and lie and crush those below as you climb up the ladder? Well, that may be going a bit far, but some have done just that. But would you sacrifice your marriage, or miss your children’s childhood? What about your health? Are you willing to give that away? And those dreams for something even better, remember those? Are you willing to put your whole life on hold for this thing called a career?

When it’s put this way most people would have no trouble saying, NO. But in reality most of us do sacrifice much too much for the career and even for the thing we call the job. Some of us seem to have no problem sacrificing ourselves for the cause. We live by the motto of “work hard and one day you will make it.” The truth is that there is no guarantee you will make it to the top of your career, or even have a career. Life just has a way of sidelining us. And even if we do make it, was it all worth it?

Time is very valuable, and when you think about it, goes by very fast. Time waits for no one. And once it’s gone, it’s gone for good. So think about what you’re willing to sacrifice for your career, or the job that works you to death. Is it worth it? Can you still make a living without losing time with those you love and losing yourself in the process?

What it all comes down to is “Balance.” When you find the balance in your life everything comes together and works for you instead of against you. You can have the career without sacrificing yourself if you find and keep that balance. When you stop sacrificing to achieve that’s when you live your authentic self. And when you think about it, isn’t that what you’re really looking and working for?

Go out and live your best life!

14 thoughts on “What Are You Willing to Sacrifice?

  1. smilecalm says:

    this helps me better
    know i can
    live that better
    life 🙂

  2. Balancing merrily away Michele. The odd wobble, but I think that is needed for guidance.
    Great share, may I take its wisdom and ‘know’ what really has purpose in my life 🙂

  3. E.D. says:

    very difficult one… I don’t know the anwser. Living on a pension, and we retired to do that was a bad idea.. 😦 – we lost years of income that we could do with now… So it is about hindsight no? eve

    • It can be difficult, Eve. I’ve second guessed myself many times on the decision to retire. Yes, I lost the income and would be in a better place financially, but not emotionally. I finally have come to realize that I wouldn’t be who I am today if I would have stayed the course, and I’m not sure if I would have even been alive. If I could have found the balance during my working years, then yes, I could have had it all, but I couldn’t find that balance until I quit.

  4. Yes, we need to live the best life we can.

  5. kara says:

    Love these lines: “Time is very valuable, and when you think about it, goes by very fast. Time waits for no one. And once it’s gone, it’s gone for good.” So true. Thank you for the reminder.

  6. Balance = harmony. That’s the goal!

  7. Joyful2bee says:

    Well said and so true. As a nurse I saw many people’s dreams cut short or postponed by sickness or death in their own life or the life of a family member. Each day is precious.

Leave a Reply

