Complete Yourself

Don’t look around for others to complete you because they never will; they simply can’t. Only you can complete yourself. Learn to feel good about the who you are, flaws and all, because you are all you have.

Good relationships will only work if you can stand on your own. If you are looking for someone else to make you feel whole then your relationship is headed for a lot of problems. Being clingy may work at first, but most people tire of it quickly. And don’t forget, if you’re looking to have someone complete you then you’re also looking to give away your power and that’s never a good thing.

It’s wonderful to share this journey with someone–no one wants to sit in a restaurant all alone. We all need friendship and love, But there’s a big difference between sharing your life with someone and looking for someone to complete you.

It’s time to develop your talents–they’re deep inside just waiting for you to bring them alive, so go ahead and start that inner fire. Try Unconditionally loving yourself. It’s not being conceited or feeling superior at all–it’s just accepting who you are.

Get out of your head and put the focus on other people. Really be interested in what they’re talking about instead of having that internal dialogue going on in your mind that is making you feel less than. Learn to laugh at your silly mistakes. We all make them and they’re not worth the brain power to fret over.

Stand up straight and be proud because this is your life and nobody else’s. Go live it, and live it with gusto!

22 thoughts on “Complete Yourself

  1. And very well written Michele. That should be a part of the High School curriculum and taught before anything else.
    If the kids have a sense of self worth, 99% of their problems would go out the door, life would become more liveable, for them and others.
    Could you imagine the removal of a lot of that teenage angst that we all go through.
    Great post 🙂

  2. tric says:

    I love your opening lines. So very true.

  3. Khris says:

    Very well said! : ) This is my life, your life! Live it! : )

  4. smilecalm says:

    wonderful!
    still this somehow
    makes me feel
    more whole 🙂

  5. facetfully says:

    I like this post and find it interesting to think of it in terms of my life. A long-term fear of ending up alone and multiple marriages later, I found myself on my own, successful and very happy. Imagine that! At a point of peace with myself, and that nagging fear of aloneness gone, I found my wonderful husband, who encouraged me even more to trust me, be me and feel free. His wedding band (we were together for about 5 years before we tied the knot) is inscribed with just those words…”you complete me”…but not because I am not whole without him…because he taught me that final piece of being me. Now my life is wonderful WITH him to share it…not because I can’t stand alone!

    Thanks for the good read!

  6. That is just so beautiful, Valorie. Thank you so much for sharing your story. I’m so glad you enjoyed the post 🙂

  7. Given me much to think about–

  8. And that is always good 🙂

  9. really enjoyed reading this. God bless you

  10. Nyambura says:

    This post is profound, Michele. Thank you for your inspiring and beautifully woven words.

Leave a Reply

