Check Your Thinking

Have you ever noticed that when you are super stressed out you eventually start to feel sick? That’s because worry, anxiety, expectations, being a perfectionist, depression, fear–just all kinds of negative emotions can make you physically and mentally sick.

Your mind can do all kinds of terrific things, but it can also sabotage you from time to time. That’s why you need to check your thinking daily to make sure it isn’t scheming with ego to ruin your health. The mind and body are in a relationship and when it’s on the rocks, Some kind of counseling might be needed.

When the mind won’t turn off all the negative chatter and you feel drained, it’s time to take action. Try taking a walk, or if you’re in good shape, then some real physical exercise. Swimming is a good way to de-stress and pretty easy on the body. And like I always say, becoming one with nature is very peaceful. Take the focus off of you and put it on something positive. Soon you will notice the mind will shut up.

Get real with yourself and realize that you only have so much time on this earth, and that time is ticking away. Don’t let an out of control negative mind make you sick. Who knows, maybe life threatening illnesses are caused by how we think. Wouldn’t that be something if we could stop them from happening with how we think?

You are in control of what is going on in your life. So check your thinking just like you should check the engine light in your car when it’s annoying you. The goal here is to make sure that all systems are a go so you can have a long, healthy, and happy life.

And… if all else fails, just laugh. It will always be the best medicine.

15 thoughts on “Check Your Thinking

  1. Val Boyko says:

    This is so close to my heart. Thank you for writing this post! For me the answer is yoga. It opens the body for relaxation and calms the mind – by activating the parasympathetic nervous system and the feel good hormones that counteract the stress induced ones.

    • Hi, Val 🙂 You are very welcome, and I’m so glad you enjoyed the post. I’ve tried a little yoga in the past but just didn’t find the right one for me. I do some yoga poses and stretches at home and they do make me feel wonderful both physically and mentally. Maybe I’ll look into yoga classes again. Thank you for sharing the information about yoga–whoever reads your comments will want to take a class for sure!

  2. Now laugh is a thought Michele. Haven’t been to something to tickle the funny bone in ages.
    Mmm, maybe that’s the problem, not taking the time, getting tangled in life 🙂

    • I was just thinking about that the other day, Mark. I mean, I do laugh (I hang out with almost nine-year-old twin girls), but I really haven’t had one of those tears in the eyes, can’t catch my breath, falling all over belly laughs. I think we both need to do that.

  3. Yes,laughter always makes me feel better.

    • You know, when everything just goes so wrong, that’s all I can do. And it really does seem to make a difference–even though some people have given me strange looks and appear puzzled.

  4. I am a perfect example of one who allowed my mind to make me physically sick. A few years ago after attending a sessions with a therapist and opening up for the first time in many years, I developed shortness of breath and a feeling like my head was going to explode. The therapist sent me to a psychiatrist who diagnosed an anxiety disorder. This is what happens when one develops a defense mechanism to always be in control and never allow yourself to express feelings.

    As far as exercise, I highly recommend water aerobics. It only is it a great work out and ace you old joints, but it is a nice opportunity to socialize.

    As always dear Michele, a great post. Take care friend.

    • I hear you, Jude. I too made myself very sick about six years’ ago. I guess that I had to hit the wall before I could get to the real me and be happy and not so stressed out all the time. Water aerobics is really good for you and a lot of fun. Haven’t done it in a while, but you’ve given me the idea that maybe I should take it up again.

      Thank you so much for sharing your story–I just know that it has helped a lot of readers here. We sometimes think that we’re alone in our struggles and it’s good to know we’re not.

      Love you always, Jude 🙂

  5. Yayo says:

    Terrific reminder, Michelle 🙂

    • Hi, Yayo! Thank you for contacting me on Facebook. I’m so glad that you are back! And so sorry for what you went through. I’m a little behind lately and haven’t spent very much time on Facebook, but can’t wait to see what you have posted. Thank you so much for your comments here–I always love them.

      • Yayo says:

        I haven’t been on fb, either, Michelle. The only time i did was to write you. It’s your posts i look forward to seeing there, amongst other favorites. Take care 🙂

  6. E.D. says:

    There is a lovely article on thought-forms, elementals by the master Daskalos – There are several posts on my blog about the very same. Thank you – and as always, blessings, Eve

Leave a Reply

