Do Your Best

Every day you have to make decisions. Some are no big deal and you hardly give them a thought, but some are in the problems to solve category and no matter how hard you try, you are never satisfied with your decision–even to the degree of regret! Just do your best. That’s right, doing your best at all times is the only thing you can do, and it’s what you strive to do whether you realize it or not. Sometimes your best will be your absolute WORST, but that’s okay because at the time, it was the best you could do.

Now, all of this probably sounds like a copout but it’s not. Just think about it. Today you might feel differently about a problem you had yesterday or a week ago. Because of that the decision you made in the past may not be the same as the one you would make today, but the one you made was right for you at the time. Go back a year or ten years and look at the decisions that you have made. Would you make the same decision today? Maybe not, and that’s because you are a different person today.

Don’t ever beat yourself up about the decisions you have made in the past. You are forever changing and learning throughout this fast journey of yours, and this is the way it’s supposed to be. Each and every decision you have made, and will make, will always be the one that is right at the very moment you are making it, even if you are at your very worst.

I have made hard decisions, and not very good decisions in my life and I know it’s easy to feel regret, but don’t. Just know that you have always done your best, and now it’s time to accept this fact and put all those negative thoughts to rest.

“Always Do Your Best. Your best is going to change from moment to moment; it will be different when you are healthy as opposed to sick. Under any circumstance, simply do your best, and you will avoid self-judgment, self-abuse and regret.”

~ Miguel Angel Ruiz

26 thoughts on “Do Your Best

  1. I truly love this post. Thank you for sharing. I will have to share to others.

  2. Reblogged this on partandparcel and commented:
    What we should remember about Choices and Decisions In Life.

  3. Reblogged this on Anna's diabetes and commented:
    Decisions in life

  4. Kayla Fash says:

    This is great advice and inspiring!

  5. fightalone1 says:

    Whatever we did is past why regret. But now is the time to making a decision to do right. nice post

  6. Cynthia says:

    Yes, this is good. All your posts are. You have a lovely way of making one remember that after all, we are only human. And that is how it’s supposed to be. I will share this with my daughters. Lately, I’ve been saying , ‘ sometimes there is no good decision.’ This post is a much better response. Thank you!

  7. Oh, Cynthia, thank you for all the compliments! Your kind words are very much appreciated. 🙂

  8. Michele,
    Reminded of the great book “The Four Agreements” by Dom Miguel Ruiz. Could Miguel Angel Ruiz be related to Dom Miguel Ruiz by chance. Son, maybe? If memory serves, one of the four agreements talks about doing one’s best. Good advice.
    Jerry

    • I’m glad you noticed the two names, Jerry. I completely spaced out on that. I did a little research and it appears that they are the same person. I don’t know why that is though. Anyway, I have and love that book and you are right, Always Do Your Best is the fourth agreement. Funny enough, I actually didn’t get the idea for this post from the book. It came to me when I started thinking about how much we second guess ourselves after we make a decision. I know in the past I have been hard on myself regretting my decisions.

  9. I use The Four Agreements in my communication course. Some of the students reportchanges at home or work that are amazing.

  10. Reblogged this on the Hunt for Truth and commented:
    doing your best is the best 🙂

  11. smilecalm says:

    such a valuable
    encouragement
    thanks 🙂

  12. Lisa C says:

    Thank you Michele for this post. I’m working on the realisation that the decisions and actions i take is the best i could have done at that particular moment.

    • You’re welcome, Lisa. In the past, I did a lot of second guessing on decisions I had made, and I realized that I was spending too much time doing this and shouldn’t be doing it at all. Just accepting that I always try and do my best is so freeing!

Leave a Reply

