Laughter

Have you ever really listened to the laughter of others? I was working at my computer the other night and my neighbors were sitting on their deck visiting with friends. I could hear them laughing really enjoying being together. I stopped working and thought, “what an inviting sound that laughter was.” There’s just something so warm and sweet in the sound of laughter, and then I wondered why we don’t do it more often.

It seems like we get caught up in the battle of life–always wanting to win. But battles are such mindless and stupid little things and they don’t contain laughter and certainly no one really wins. Maybe laughter is what life is all about because it’s so light and infectious and certainly brings joy, and knocks the socks out of pain.

The best laughter of course, is that of children. When their giggles get out of control and turn into full-blown crazy laughter–now that’s pure music, isn’t it? You hear that kind of laughter and think how wonderful to be so free.

Once in a while all of us should give ourselves a break and not be so uptight and hard on our souls. We should throw caution to the wind and learn to laugh at ourselves and all the ups and downs our life holds. The benefits of such naughty behavior would be endless indeed. Maybe the way to have more laughter is to choose our battles more wisely, or not have them at all.

When was the last time you really had a good belly laugh? Go ahead, don’t wait, for it might end up being too late.

“Laughter is the sun that drives winter from the human face.”
~ Victor Hugo

10 thoughts on “Laughter

  1. tric says:

    I live a life full of laughter.Even in awful times and heartbreak humour and laughter get me through.
    I too love to hear the sound of children laughing. It never fails to make me smile. Lovely post.

  2. This is perfect timing – another nice day is on the horizon and I plan to look for some laughs with others.

    Thanks Michele;
    ~ Eric

  3. Love the sound of real, out loud laughter-always makes me smile.

  4. Krishna Dev says:

    What a refreshing post Michele. It reminded of the times I spent with little babies.
    Sometimes I make weird faces to babies when their parents aren’t looking. 😉

    Hari Om!

Leave a Reply

