Two Roads

You have a choice which road you choose to travel on. One is full of bumps and pain, and the other is smooth as glass where it almost never rains. But seriously, you have a choice so why do you keep choosing the road that brings you so much pain? I bet you think bad luck follows you and there is no escaping. But bad luck isn’t following anyone, you just don’t seem to realize that you keep choosing the wrong road to travel on.

So how do you get off that bad damn road and get yourself on the one smiles are made from? It’s easy, stop thinking the way you have always been thinking. Sounds simple doesn’t it? Just too simple to actually be true. It seems to me that humans have a way of complicating each and every day. Don’t be miserable, be happy instead. It’s all about what you choose. You have the power to make or break your day and even your whole life! That’s a lot of power you’re wielding there my friend. I bet you didn’t even know you had it in you.

There are two roads and I know for certain which one I’m going to travel on. I want to feel happy and alive, so I will always choose the road where the sun always shines. If something bad comes my way, I won’t let it rain on my parade, because how I choose to think will always determine my day.

Each morning before you get out of bed, make a promise to yourself that absolutely nothing will ruin your day. Your life is your responsibility–take control.

“Take your life in your own hands and what happens? A terrible thing: no one is to blame.” ~ Erica Jong

18 thoughts on “Two Roads

  1. Debra says:

    I loved Fear of Flying. Jong is a terribly clever person.

  2. Line says:

    Yes, I agree, that we can always choose to be happy from within. I mean, life can throw some pretty bad stuff at us, that we cannot control, but how we approach the world, and the challenges we have to face is interely up to us 🙂 To be able to create your own happiness is strenght! 🙂

    • Hi, Line 🙂 Yes this is so true. Life is so much richer when you have control over your thoughts. You might not be able to stop the bad things that are happening to you, but you can control how you feel and react. Great hearing from you.

  3. Hi Michele, I am in 100% agreement with you – people believe there are outside forces coming in on them, not realizing they have the power to change their minds and look at situations in another way. It is a choice to look at something in life as negative, not a requirement. I found your blog post refreshing and insightful. People should take your advice at the end of your post – waking up and deciding to have a great day no matter what – and live by it. It will make a difference in their lives, almost instantaneously. Highest Regards, Kim

    • Thank you, Kim, for enjoying this post, and your lovely words of wisdom. I wish more people would realize they have a choice on how they look at things. There is just too much negativity in people’s lives. Thank you for coming by and sharing your beautiful spirit 🙂

  4. KM Huber says:

    Wonderful post! Had a pep talk with myself this morning regarding this very subject. I had to keep reminding myself that I am in this moment and no longer in the one that was, and even better yet, I am not in any moment to come. As you say, humans tend to complicate. Thanks for this great post.
    Karen

    • Oh, Karen, I struggled just today with how I was going to react to something. I chose to let it go and be peacefully happy. Thank you for your wonderful insight–I so enjoy hearing from you 🙂

  5. […] fellow blogger and a friend Michele Anderson wrote in her post “Two Roads” about the two different perceptions of life. One takes you to the path of smiles and […]

  6. I have nominated you for the Seed of Light Award. This award is for blogs that inspire creativity, nature, connection, communications and beauty. Pass it on!
    The Rules:

    1. Thank the person who nominated you.

    2. Nominate at least 5 blogs and provide links to their blogs.

    3. Notify the nominees of their nominations.

    Congratulations!!

  7. I have nominated you for the Seed of Light Award. Congratulations!!
    The award is for blogs that inspire creativity, nature, connection, communications and beauty. Pass it on!

    The Rules:

    1. Thank the person who nominated you.

    2. Nominate at least 5 blogs and provide links to their blogs.

    3. Notify the nominees of their nominations.

Leave a Reply

