Your Now

There comes a time in everyone’s life when they realize that they have been around for a very long time and have a huge past that can sometimes haunt them, and a lot shorter future that can frighten them. Then there is that present time, you know, the “now” of our lives that we just seem to have trouble living in. Maybe that’s because we like to torture ourselves over and over about our past mistakes, and are just afraid of the unknown future. Whatever it is, it can suck the life out of us, and it serves no purpose when it places negative energy on our journey.

The past of your life is just that, and there is nothing you can do to change one little horrible thing that you did, or was done to you. Take responsibility for the bad you did; forgive those that hurt you. Use your past as a teaching tool to become the who you are supposed to be, and then let it go and move on. The anguish you feel comes from the ego, but we all know that’s because the ego has nothing better to do.

The future is an unknown and when you are young, you just can’t wait to get there, and when you are more mature, it can scare the hell out of you. But it is just the unknown, something that may or may not become your now, so it’s pointless to worry about something that isn’t even here. Your life is constantly in motion and changing. You don’t have a crystal ball and therefore have no idea what is going to happen in the next moment, let alone the next decade, until it arrives in the now.

All you ever have is right now. Realize that no matter how awful your past is it all had to happen to move you along on your journey, and bring you to the point you are today, and it will continue that way. Don’t let your past and fear of the future steal away your now. Just let it go and be present in your life enjoying every moment you are alive. Remember, suffering is not a requirement for a good life, but happiness always is.

 Embrace Your Now.

“You cannot find yourself in the past or future. The only place where you can find yourself is in the Now.” ~ Eckhart Tolle

16 thoughts on “Your Now

  1. digitalgranny says:

    So true and looking back, and looking forward, takes my eyes off of today, and causes me to stumble.

  2. Jenna Dee says:

    It took me too long to accept the wisdom of what you are saying but at age 52 I finally let go of the past and I feel so much better. Great post, a reminder to all of us to live for today. Love to you from Jenna

    • Hi, Jenna 🙂 I understand what you’re saying–it has taken me forever to get to this point. I hope that I can get others to not waste so many years not living in the “now.” Thank you for your wonderful comments. Love, Michele

  3. Line says:

    Thank you for this wise post! I have always felt that if I hold on to hurts and disappointments then it will create bad “karma” or bad energy for those who have hurt me, I mean I know it does not make sense, but I just feel that I don’t want them to have to “pay” for hurting me, so I instantly forgive so as to clear them of negative energy. If you know what I mean. It is all in my head I know, but I just feel that way. I just don’t want anything bad to happen to anyone, because I know that human behavior is very complex, and I don’t know why people do what they do and say what they say, there are many things that happen to us that can affect us, and we are all affected in different ways according to our temperaments. So it is best to forgive, and understand that people are not born mean, they simply become little lost when they have bad things happening to them.

  4. I think I recall that Tolle says that the future is now… we must be in the now to make a future (now)… otherwise we are getting whatever happens as a result of before — he definitely said that the more we focus on time then we miss the now — there isn’t such a thing as future… nor past really — and this is a video that he declares there is no future (“and this also applies to the past” is his closing)::

  5. http://thewritemight.me/2014/04/15/beautiful-blogger-award/
    I nominated you for the beautiful blogger award. Please see link above. I enjoy following your blog and believe you deserve the award.

    Jude

  6. Joe Bradshaw says:

    In this moment.. I wanted to say thank you an awesome post and an awesome sentiment. In the moment of now I have a wonderful smile thanks for sharing it with me! 🙂

  7. KM Huber says:

    “Don’t let your past and fear of the future steal away your now” is not only brilliant but for me, it is the crux of the issue. We really do lose the infinite possibilities of the now if we are not here. Wonderful post.
    Karen

    • Hi, Karen, and thank you 🙂 I could only say that quote above because the me of yesterday did let my past and fear of the future steal away my now, but not anymore.

Leave a Reply

