Don’t Care

Caring about what other people think of you is living too much by your ego. Children live by their egos and have a great need for peer acceptance and suffer greatly when they are rejected. They need the guidance of parents and other nurturers to help them realize that they shouldn’t care what other people think of them. But the need for acceptance is so strong that children usually don’t listen to the guidance that is given and become puppets to the peers they strive to impress.

Unfortunately, many people never grow out of the need for acceptance and are very concerned about how they are viewed. They are constantly trying to make an impression and spend a lot of time worrying about what they did or didn’t do, and how they can win someone over, be liked, and maybe just be loved.

When you are living your life this way you really aren’t living your life. You are just going around in circles trying too hard to be liked. What you need to do is stop caring what others think, and stop thinking about yourself. Dig deep inside your soul and figure out what makes you happy and brings you peace and do that. Care about other people not so they will accept you, but because you truly care.

You are meant to have a happy fulfilled life, but that won’t happen if you are always too concerned about what others think of you, and if you’re in constant need for acceptance.

Take a deep breath, be good to your soul, and you be the one to accept yourself. Make sure good deeds come from your heart and not your mind, and do kind things when no one is looking, and there’s no prize in sight.

“Care about what other people think and you will always be their prisoner.”  ~ Lao Tzu

12 thoughts on “Don’t Care

  1. I love it – the Tao of Caring… kids that have emotionally healthy parenting and get good grounding in social skills early may do extraordinarily well (as you probably know).
    ~ Eric

  2. Jenna Dee says:

    This is a great post Michele with some good advice for all of us. I especially like your closing paragraph which sums the message up beautifully. Having confidence in myself and knowing I am a good person is my definition of freedom. Freedom is bliss. Love to you from Jenna

  3. Line says:

    I love this post! It is so true! Everything you are saying! For me, I have never cared what people in general are saying or thinking about me, but those I love…….like family, now that is a different story all together…..I am too attached to their approval, and I know it! Thank you for reminding me to work on this 🙂

    • Hi, Line, I’m glad you liked the post 🙂 I think it’s harder with the people we love and family in general. But, because we care so much about them, they can sometimes be the ones to hurt us with their opinions.

  4. yep. I care what my husband and sons think but it still wouldn’t stop me from doing what I know Abba wants me to do..We have to all work on not worrying about what others think…good post.

  5. Michele, this post just crystallised the point so well for me.
    It takes mindfulness for me to remember that people may not be right, no matter how confident their delivery.
    Cheers Susan 🙂

    • Hi, Susan, thank you for stopping by 🙂 I agree, It does take a lot of mindfulness not to be swayed by other people’s opinions. That’s why I always try and trust my sixth sense.

  6. Michelle says:

    The older I get the more that this makes a whole lot of sense to me…..well said.

Leave a Reply

