Love

There’s a special love that’s called “Unconditional” love. You always experience this kind of love from pets. It’s that love your dog gives freely by adoring you as the pack leader even when you don’t deserve it. It’s the sweet purrs of contentment and whisker kisses your cat gives to you even though you’ve been too busy to pay it much attention.

It’s not only from animals that we experience unconditional love. We’ve had it from children who just simply love us no matter what. They live in the moment and have completely forgotten that we were in a foul mood earlier.

I was privileged last August in experiencing this love from a nine-year-old who is an old soul and my grandson. He’s been moving around the country since he was almost three, and we have been saying tearful goodbyes since then. Last summer, he spent a month with us along with his sister and mother. There was a lot going on that included a houseful of children which meant children having battles with each other and adults getting too involved. Expectations were high on both sides with this visit, and stress was overflowing. The children went from love to hate and back to love easily, but the adults had trouble shifting into gear.

When the day came for my grandson and his family to leave, as usual he was overcome with sadness and tears. He called me before boarding the plane and started crying. As I always have done, I tried to cheer him up with telling him I would see him soon and just about everything I could think of to keep his spirits up. He said he missed me, and I laughed to keep from crying myself and said, “You don’t miss all the arguing that went on.”  He said through his tears, “No, I Miss You!”

I’ve thought about that statement for a long time and I realize that he didn’t care about all the stressful stuff that happened on his visit, he only cared that he was missing me because his love is unconditional. My grandson is now ten, and I hope as he grows into adulthood that he will always keep unconditional love a part of him as should all of us.

“It matters not who you love, where you love, why you love, when you love, or how you love; It Matters Only That You Love.

~ John Lennon

6 thoughts on “Love

  1. joshsherin says:

    Great post Michele! Unconditional love is an amazing thing, I have it with my wife, mother, and grandmother, the three most people in my life. I am expecting my first child in only a few weeks, and already I love him unconditionally too, even without meeting him. I don’t know how to be a dad, but I’m sure that if I love him hard enough, it will work itself out.

  2. Beautifully written! To be so tuned into your grandsons (unconditional) love must feel wonderful!

  3. Lucia Maya says:

    I love this! Thank you, you clearly are blessed with being loved and loving, what is most important in this life.

    • Thank you, Lucia for your kind words. Yes, I do feel very blessed with the gift of all my grandchildren. This grandson almost didn’t make it into this world, so he has a special place in my heart.

Leave a Reply

