Joy

I think joy is a deeper feeling than happiness. I can be happy by experiencing something that makes me happy. But, I can feel that joy is something that lives inside of me and is part of my soul.

“When you do things from your soul, you feel a river moving in you, a joy.” ~ Rumi

Sometimes though, joy gets misplaced. We start looking outside ourselves to feel it again, and we find temporary happiness only. We have to do something to bring our joy up. At times you need to dig deep into your soul and help it to flow once more. I know the best place for me to go is out into nature. Planting in my garden, watching things grow, birds taking a bath in my yard, and even listening to the giggles of the neighborhood children at play helps to bring up my joy.

When I misplace my joy I am miserable, and find I am just going through the motions of living without truly feeling my life. But when I take the time to find my joy, my life is always so much better. Even though joy lives inside of us it is easily misplaced by the stress and sheer craziness we let invade our lives.

You can see on the faces of the people you pass by if they have misplaced their joy. They look unhappy and in a trance because they are. I spent decades living that way and I know so well that I can never get the time back that was wasted. Our lives are so precious and our time so short that we should take a pledge that we will never let one day go by that our joy becomes misplaced.

“We are shaped by our thoughts; we become what we think. When the mind is pure, joy follows like a shadow that never leaves.”   ~ Buddha

6 thoughts on “Joy

  1. You can find joy anywhere; you just have to look and open yourself up to the wonders of the world. Great post!

  2. Anna says:

    Yes, joy is a much deeper emotion than happiness (which is often just excitement). I feel true joy is more like a calm abiding; “still, flowing water” in the words of the Buddhist teacher Ajahn Chah. Wishing you more joy and peace…

  3. tuesday2 says:

    We live about 500 ft from the Chemung River and that is where I find and renew my peace and appreciation for the day… nature is so healing.

Leave a Reply

