Forgiving

“To forgive is to set a prisoner free and discover that the prisoner was you.” ~ Lewis B. Smedes

This quote really does explain what forgiving is all about. It has nothing to do with the person you are trying to forgive, but everything to do with setting yourself free of resentment.

When you forgive someone it doesn’t mean you accept, or excuse,  or erase what they did. That is between them and their God, or whatever they believe in. If the offender doesn’t apologize for what they did, still forgive them. Remember, you do this for one reason only:

 “To Set Yourself Free.”

The same goes for forgiving yourself. I know for me, forgiving others is much easier than forgiving myself. But you can’t go through life continually raking yourself over the coals. Apologize to those you’ve hurt–even yourself, then let it go. I’ve even apologized to those that have passed on. Forgiving yourself has nothing to do with you taking responsibility for what you did, but once that is done, nothing good will come from beating yourself up over and over again.

Get into the habit of not harboring resentments, and learn to forgive without conditions. Your life’s journey is hard enough without extra baggage, so travel light.

“The forgiving state of mind is a magnetic power for attracting good.”
~ Catherine Ponder

4 thoughts on “Forgiving

  1. jennadee222 says:

    Thank you for your wise advice, it is very well received. I’m still working on being able to be free myself of all the hurt I have been carrying around with me for way too long but I am getting there. Love Jenna 🙂

  2. kerbey says:

    I’m reading a book called “A New Song” this month, and one character tells another, “Forgiveness is giving up my right to hurt you because you have hurt me.”

Leave a Reply

