Life is Short

We don’t give it much thought, but we are only here for a short while. In an instant we can be gone. An illness can also rob us of the quality of our lives. We are very busy living our lives and don’t give a lot of thought to how we are living. Unfortunately, we spend too much time feeling hurt, or mad at someone.

When I was a little girl, I used to lay my head on my dad’s shoulder and I could hear his heart beating. I had a fear of what would happen if the beating were to ever stop. Decades later it did, and he was no more. As time has gone on, like most of you, I’ve lost family members, friends and cherished pets.

I remember vividly the day I had my elderly sick cat euthanized. Before the solution took hold, she looked up at me so alive, and then she was gone. I realized on that day as I cradled her little body, how precious life was. Yes, it’s always taken an animal to teach me the important things in life. Maybe that’s why most of my guides are totems.

In our life we should take stock of how we are living. Stop for a second and take a deep breath. Ask yourself, “Should I really be mad, or hurt at this person?” If it’s your sibling, parent, or friend, is it worth the time lost to feel this way? One day they will be gone, and so will you. So what’s the point? If you have an issue with them, then tell them how you feel and clear the air. Most of the time when we get mad at someone, or get our feelings hurt, it’s over nothing important. And if it is important, in the long run it doesn’t matter.

Life is short, so make sure while you have it that you enjoy the quality in your life. Get over the little things that bring you down. While you can, spend time with the people you care about because one day, they and you will be no more.

2 thoughts on “Life is Short

  1. ellenmatis says:

    I needed this. Especially the last paragraph…sometimes people need to be reminded of that.

Leave a Reply

