Feelings

You experience all kinds of feelings during a normal day, but how do you handle them? The good ones make you smile and even laugh out loud. They make you happy and lighter than air. But the bad and sad ones you probably stuff way deep inside your soul and they make you ache.

All feelings need to be addressed and honored, because if ignored and abandoned they will not go away, but will instead stay inside your soul festering until they find their way out in disturbing ways.

Learn to get in touch with your feelings, and learn to express them in a way that frees you, and doesn’t cause pain in someone else. When someone has hurt you, don’t just soldier up and go on, but let the person know in a calm assertive way how you feel. Be a problem solver not a problem maker. Express your feelings in art, journaling, dance, just to name a few.

Grief over the loss of a loved one especially needs to be addressed. Don’t be afraid to remember them, because if you try to forget them you’re not letting yourself go through the natural grieving process which is important so you can go on with your life in a healthy way. Shoving the pain deep inside will only make you hurt worse.

Your feelings ebb and flow like the tides of the sea. Feelings are what make you human, and teach you much about yourself. Once you accept, understand, and find the right way to communicate them, you will be liberated and on to a life of happiness.

“There is a candle in your heart, ready to be kindled.
There is a void in your soul, ready to be filled.
You feel it, don’t you?”  ~ Rumi

6 thoughts on “Feelings

  1. Line says:

    Oh, you cannot believe how much I love this post!! I have, through my whole life, been told, by so many people who have claimed to have some kind of authority, that I should not have, or express negative feelings. That I should be smiling and be in a good mood all the time. But of course that is impossible, and I experienced in a period of my life that I become more introvert (and I am not introvert) because I was afraid of expressing “the wrong” emotions. Thank God I had my angels for comfort, otherwise I think I would have become depressed! But my angels taught me to acknowledge all my feelings and express them freely. I am quite sweet-tempered so it is not in my nature to get very angry or take out negative emotions on others, I mostly cry, and I have now learned that when I cry it is best for me to seek comfort, and then move on. Crying is healing for me, and so is being comforted, and the result is that I let go of the negativity, and become joyful again, as opposed to when I held it inside, then I just become sadder and sadder. So I sooooo much agree with this post!! Thank you so much!! :-)

    • I’m so happy that this post spoke to you, Line. I actually got the idea for “Feelings” while volunteering as a bereavement facilitator working with children. For two sessions my group was working on exploring and expressing their feelings. I realized that we all have a habit of not facing our feelings and how that can come back someday to haunt us. Thank you so much for sharing your feelings; I know they will help someone else to learn and express theirs.

  2. Nice thought. If feelings are nurtured and seen positively then we would be really contended with ourselves.

Leave a Reply

